The company was founded by Andreas Hansen Hjorth in 1789. He was born in 1749, and became luthier to the Royal Danish Orchestra, and on his death in 1834 the company passed to his son Johannes, born in 1809. His son, Emil Theodor Hjorth was born in Copenhagen in 1840, and succeeded in 1900, having previously gained experience in the workshops of Gabriel Lemböck in Vienna in 1863, Auguste Bernardel in Paris in 1864, and then for two years in London. He in turn was joined in the business by his sons Otto and Knud, and renamed the company Hjorth & Sønner in 1905. Otto received training with Georges Cunault in Paris until 1902, and Knud trained with Ernst Kessler in Berlin until 1906, when Emil retired. He died in 1920, the sons having taken over the shop, continuing to produce fine copies of master instruments. The business passed to Knud’s son Arne, born in 1910, and then to his son Mads, born in 1947. Arne trained also with Charles Enel in Paris, and Mads with Paul Hilaire in Mirecourt, under the guidance of Jean Eulry, in 1966-68. Mads became the sole proprietor in 1970, and it was the oldest family-run violin shop in existence at the time of its closure in 2016.
Tim Ingles and Paul Hayday will offer an initial evaluation of the authenticity and value of your instrument or bow. At this stage, the assessment is free and without obligation. In the first instance, we suggest submitting good-quality images to us, preferably by email to email@example.com or by completing the valuation form.Read more